Site Specific – Abyss

I really enjoy all of the Site Specific exhibition that I went to but the one that I really loved was Abyss.

The two pieces that I want to talk about are Ole Nesset’s and Jordan Thomas’.

When first entering the Vaults all you can hear is a terrifying music be played, the further you walk down the steps the more intense it becomes. You enter into a gloomy low lit dungeon and are greeted by being told to take a seat…

IMG_1847

IMG_1852IMG_1850 IMG_1851IMG_1869 IMG_1848 IMG_1894  IMG_1897IMG_1890

IMG_1895

For Jordan’s piece he spent the whole two days typing out poetry. He wanted to show an endless task, a man trapped in a purgatory state of being condemned to do the same task over and over again for eternity. I love this performance, his commitment to sitting there for so long, not engaging with anyone that spoke to him and just typing and writing over and over was brilliant. The set up of the piece was really good, in all of the darkness the bright spot light aimed at the typewriter as a way of directing attention and reminding him of what he must focus on. In the background of this video you can hear Ole’s Piece.

For Ole’s piece he did a music piece, he recorded people as they walked in and spoke, doing this constantly and then playing the many recordings on top of each other as well as other sounds he had previously recorded. The music was played form behind a black sheet the hid half of the room. behind this he would stand and make other sounds which can be heard in the second video (when I tell him ready). He would also tap the sheet when people entered trying to get their attention as a soul that was trying to escape.

After going to this exhibition it made me realise what is expected of me and the quality of work I should being trying to do. When it comes to doing my own Site Specific, I will have this one in mind to make sure I push myself to give an experience to the viewer as good.

Leave a comment