Alternative Postcard

For the Alternative Postcard it was suggested that we do some research about the Gower and have an idea of something that we wanted to photograph about the area before we went. I wanted to test myself and try and keep on my creativity on its toes so I wanted to spend the day exploring and get inspired by the location while there.

As the day went on I started getting a bit hopeless, I couldn’t seem to find anything I wanted to shoot but as the tide went out I was given the chance to go and explore the beach. This was where I started to see things I really wanted to photograph.

I explored some of the caves that were in the area, it was a bit of a creepy experience but also really fun. When leaving the caves the view of the light coming in and how the beach and sea were framed by the darkness of the opening to the cave looked brilliant. Keeping the Alt. Postcard theme in mind I thought that having a beautiful view of the beach is what you would normally have on a generic postcard but the alternative spin I wanted to put on it would be having it photographed from somewhere you can only gain access to for a few hours a day.

Leave a comment