Denis Yakovlev – Traveling without moving

https://www.lensculture.com/projects/46609-traveling-without-moving

All photos belong to Denis Yakolev

Featured image

For these photos the photographer did not have thechance to travel around the world, so instead he sent off his exposed film to another photographer somewhere else in the world so they could photograph with it and create a double exposure. I love this idea so much, it is brilliant, and as someone who cannot not travel as much as I’d like to places I’d enjoy going to, this is something I would like to try out. It could be a great way to network and meet other photographers and do collaborations.

I have family in New Zealand that I have not met so perhaps sending over a film for them to photograph with, maybe things like their home and favourite places on the same film that I shoot those things with could create a interesting comparison photo set. I could always ask one of the second year students to shoot with film when they go home and then we can create some double exposure images like the ones above.

Leave a comment